June 9th 2022: Primary Results Update; Meager Riverside County Turnout Now Above 15%

In Riverside County, Election Night results are not final. These are preliminary results.


The Registrar of Voters is reporting 205-thousand ballots counted so far, out of 1.3 million Vote-by-Mail ballots that were mailed out to registered voters in the County for the June 7th Primary Election.


Voter Turnout so far is under 16%.


Approximately 136,000 Vote-by-Mail and 2,000 Provisional ballots still must be processed.


Work on those begins Wednesday morning June 8th 2022.


Ballots that are postmarked on or before Election Day, June 7th 2022, and arrive at the Registrar’s Office by June 14th, will be counted.


The next updated results will be posted at 6:00pm on Thursday 6/9.


In some races, the top two vote-getters will head to the General Election in November 2022.  In other races, if a candidate gets 50% plus 1 vote, that candidate wins outright.


Congress 25th District

RAUL RUIZ DEM 27,858     60.13%

BRIAN E. HAWKINS REP 7,704    16.63%

BRIAN M TYSON REP 4,404     9.72%


Congress 41st District

KEN CALVERT REP  36,377    43.85%

WILL ROLLINS DEM  28,182    35.17%

SHRINA KURANI DEM 11,616    14.89%


State Senate 18th District

STEVE PADILLA DEM  7,721    60.92%



State Senate 32nd District

KELLY SEYARTO REP  43,542   58.76%

BRIAN NASH DEM 30,558   41.24%


State Assembly 36th District

EDUARDO GARCIA DEM  10,492   47.46%

IAN M. WEEKS REP  9,622   43.52%

MARLON G. WARE DEM  1,994   9.02%


State Assembly 47th District

CHRISTY HOLSTEGE DEM 28,725   53.17%

GREG WALLIS REP 15,178   28.09%



Riverside County School Superintendent

EDWIN GOMEZ 145,950    100.00% (ran unopposed)


Riverside County Board of Supervisors 2nd District

KAREN SPIEGEL 27,164   100.00% (ran unopposed)


Riverside County Board of Supervisors 4th District

MANUEL “MANNY” PEREZ 42,175   100.00% (ran unopposed)


Riverside County Board of Supervisors 5th District

YXSTIAN GUTIERREZ 10,719   33.38%

JEFF HEWITT 10,631   33.11%

LLOYD WHITE 7,995   24.90%


Riverside County Assessor-County Clerk-Recorder

PETER ALDANA 149,377   100.00% (ran unopposed)


Riverside County Auditor-Controller

PAUL A. ANGULO  77,385   42.79%

BEN J. BENOIT 75,831  41.94%


Riverside County District Attorney

MIKE HESTRIN 98,5430   53.23%

LARA GRESSLEY 43,470   23.48%

BURKE E. STRUNSKY 43,101   23.28%


Riverside County Sheriff-Coroner-Public Administrator

CHAD BIANCO 110,841   58.53%

MICHAEL J. LUJAN 78,530   41.47%


Riverside County Treasurer-Tax Collector

MATTHEW JENNINGS 154,600   100.00%


Statewide Offices:



Gavin Newsom   56.2%

Brian Dahle   17.0%


Lt Gov

Eleni Kounalakis   52.%

Angela E. Underwood Jacobs   20.00%


CA Secretary of State

Shirley E Weber   58.7%

Rob Bernosky   19.5%



Lanhee Chen   37.1%

Malia M Cohen   21.2%



Fiona Ma   57.5%

Jack M Guerrero    21.4%


CA Attorney General

Rob Bonta    54.4%

Nathan Hochman   18.5%

Eric Early    16.9%


California School Superintendent

Tony K Thurmond   45.7%

Ainye E Long   11.7%

George Yang    11.6%

Lance Ray Christensen   11.3%


U S Senate Full Term

Alex Padilla   53.4%

Mark P. Meuser   14.4%


U-S Senate Partial Term

Alex Padilla    54.2%

Mark P. Meuser   21.7%


Volunteer handing out I Voted stickers after filling out a election ballot at a district voting station.

Photo by Alpha Media USA Portland OR